Toronto Mike

Maple Leafs 1, Penguins 4


Tied 1-1 in the second period, Alexei Ponikarovsky was awarded a penalty shot.  I saw it, you saw it, it happened.

It never happened.  Instead, they determined that Sergei Gonchar had scored 13-seconds earlier.  There's a rule somewhere about scoring two goals on the same play, so the penalty shot was cancelled.

This, in a nutshell, is the life of a Maple Leafs fan.  We're tied with the defending Stanley Cup champions and fighting tough, about to get a penalty shot, but instead the puck is dropped at centre ice and we're down 2-1.

The sad thing is, I'm rather used to it by now. Of course Wallin missed that open net! What did you expect him to do?  Score?

Author image
About Toronto Mike
I own TMDS and host Toronto MIke'd. Become a Patron.