Toronto Mike

Stanley Cup Final Sweeps

Stanley Cup Final Sweeps

There have been 20 sweeps in Stanley Cup final history, by nine different teams.

Tonight, the Los Angeles Kings try to become the tenth team to do it, while winning their first Stanley Cup.  Here are the previous 20 times it's been done since the 7-game format came into effect in 1938-39.

YEARWINNING TEAMLOSING TEAM 1998Detroit Red WingsWashington Capitals1997Detroit Red WingsPhiladelphia Flyers1996Colorado AvalancheFlorida Panthers1995New Jersey DevilsDetroit Red Wings1992Pittsburgh PenguinsChicago Blackhawks1988Edmonton OilersBoston Bruins1983New York IslandersEdmonton Oilers1982New York IslandersVancouver Canucks1977Montreal CanadiensBoston Bruins1976Montreal CanadiensPhiladelphia Flyers1970Boston BruinsSt. Louis Blues1969Montreal CanadiensSt. Louis Blues1968Montreal CanadiensSt. Louis Blues1960Montreal CanadiensToronto Maple Leafs1952Detroit Red WingsMontreal Canadiens1949Toronto Maple LeafsDetroit Red Wings1948Toronto Maple LeafsDetroit Red Wings1944Montreal CanadiensChicago Black Hawks1943Detroit Red WingsBoston Bruins1941Boston BruinsDetroit Red Wings

Win it for Marcel, Kings.

Author image
About Toronto Mike
I own TMDS and host Toronto MIke'd. Become a Patron.