Toronto Mike

Halladay Wins the Cy Young Award


Roy Halladay has just won the American League Cy Young Award.  As if there was any doubt, Halladay received 26 first-place votes and two seconds for 136 points in balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

He finished 22-7 with a 3.25 ERA this year, winning 15 consecutive decisions from May 1 to July 27 and tying for the AL lead with nine complete games.  This is the fourth Cy Young Award in Blue Jays history and he becomes the third Blue Jay to win one.  Pat Hentgen and Roger Clemens are the others.  In 2003 Halladay was awesome.  Former Jay Esteban Loaiza never had a prayer.

I had the joy of watching a young Roy Halladay lose a no-hit bid with two down in the ninth at Skydome back in '98.  Check out my ticket stub from the game in Ticket Stubs.

Author image
About Toronto Mike
I own TMDS and host Toronto MIke'd. Become a Patron.