SLS20 Unveiled

slsIt is with great privilege and honour that I unveil to you the final song list for SLS20. For an SLS primer, go here and to see what appeared on SLS19, go here.

We listened to hours and hours of new rock before deciding upon these 20 tracks. Without further ado, I give you SLS20.

  1. MGMT - Kids
  2. Brendan Canning - Churches Under the Stairs
  3. Metric - Help, I'm Alive
  4. Death Cab for Cutie - Cath...
  5. Kings of Leon - Sex On Fire
  6. Weezer - Troublemaker
  7. Toyko Police Club - Graves
  8. M.I.A. - Paper Planes
  9. Billy Talent & Anti-Flag - Turn Your Back
  10. Sam Roberts - Detroit '67
  11. Coldplay - Viva La Vida
  12. Disturbed - Inside the Fire
  13. Linkin Park - Given Up
  14. One Day as a Lion - Wild International
  15. Beck - Gamma Ray
  16. Wintersleep - Oblivion
  17. Foo Fighters - Let It Die
  18. The Verve - Love Is Noise
  19. USS - 2 and 15/16ths
  20. Stars - Bitches In Tokyo

I just updated The Complete SLS Database. Look for SLS21 in late June, 2009.

Share this entry

Comments (5 - click here to join in!)

Frank the Tank

Hey Mike,

I think you missed two really big ones out there right now. Rise Against Re-Education through labour is a fantastic song. Offsprings you're gonna go far kid should be up there too. I question giving Cold Play any consideration when much of their album is under review for copyright infringement. Weezer's trouble maker is also a weak attempt by what used to be a very strong band. Overall I agree with your listings, perhaps the only one is paper planes, as much as it is catchy it's not really new and it's really forgetttable once you stop humming the annoying chorus line.

December 22, 2008 @ 6:36 PM


I agree with Frank the Tank with his reference to Offspring, but am unsure as to what I would cut from your choices. As I read your selections I thought to myself I think this might be a playlist I could love completely.

December 22, 2008 @ 9:05 PM

shane alexander

i would've put mgmt's `time to pretend' there, bud. :)

December 23, 2008 @ 3:48 AM

Toronto Mike

MGMT's Time to Pretend made SLS19 and was therefore ineligible.

December 23, 2008 @ 9:14 AM

Jason |

There have already been two singles since "Time To Pretend". "Electric Feel" and "Kids". The whole album really stands out as one of the best of 2008.

December 23, 2008 @ 7:45 PM

Leave a comment

Only 5 comments? C'mon, we can do better... Leave a comment above and let's keep this conversation going!

« Justin Pogge Gets His Shot Maple Leafs 6, Thrashers 2 »