Mysterious Message

Published by Toronto Mike on March 27, 2009 @ 19:39 in Miscellaneous

emailI often get messages via the form at http://www.torontomike.com/contact.html. Here's an interesting one I received moments ago.

Dear TM,

I am a strictly anonymous person who wonders why fred's site isn't blocked by my work filter yet a certain other blog is...

I wish to remainameless.

Yours Truly,

Remainameless.

Remainameless, I need more detail. I'm betting the Fred you refer to is Fred Patterson, author of canadianthinker.com, a blog I technically support. Whose site is blocked by your work?

Permalink Entry Permalink Comments 6 comments

6 Responses to "Mysterious Message"

Remanameless
March 27, 2009 / 23:05

I go to Fred's site daily as do I yours. I find the content of Fred posts to be much more in your face and provocative than those of yours, however my place of business has repeatedly warned me of visits to your domain. I am clueless as to why however I am pretty sure it will be address in our Monday leads meeting. Weird no? Whats wrong with a little Hip and Hockey.
Long may you blog.

Toronto Mike
March 28, 2009 / 08:15

Remanemeless, sometimes these filters block www.mikeboon.com but not www.torontomike.com. Both resolve here. See if one will get you in... Although, the links are now hardcoded to torontomike.com, so to go beyond the home page you'd have to manually type "mikeboon" over top "torontomike", if that makes sense.

As for why, it's tough to say. I haven't tagged this site in any such way, but I seem to have been discovered by these guys and classified that way. Fred is still flying under the radar... I've got a lot more traffic than he does. ;-)

And yeah, it's not fair. This site has no nudity, very little violence and I write every entry assuming my kids will one day read them.

Unblock Toronto Mike!

Toronto Mike
March 28, 2009 / 08:39

Censorware query of the day:

Is this blog blocked at anyone else's workplace?

LEW
March 28, 2009 / 10:24

No, your site is fine - but Fred's was blocked when our company put a filter in about a year ago. I saved the screen capture for future use.

Buffalo Boy Mike
March 28, 2009 / 15:14

Remainnameless, sometimes if you enter in the web address to the site you want to see starting with:
https:
instead of
http:
it will bypass your works filters
I did that at my last job and it got me onto sites that were blocked, it was limited in its effectiveness but it gave me more access than I had.

Buffalo Boy Mike
March 28, 2009 / 15:15

Mike could probably explain the s part of the https and what it does.

Leave a Reply



« CP24 Breakfast Is Not Breakfast Television Maple Leafs 3, Sabres 5 »