Maple Leafs 1, Penguins 4
Tied 1-1 in the second period, Alexei Ponikarovsky was awarded a penalty shot. I saw it, you saw it, it happened.
It never happened. Instead, they determined that Sergei Gonchar had scored 13-seconds earlier. There's a rule somewhere about scoring two goals on the same play, so the penalty shot was cancelled.
This, in a nutshell, is the life of a Maple Leafs fan. We're tied with the defending Stanley Cup champions and fighting tough, about to get a penalty shot, but instead the puck is dropped at centre ice and we're down 2-1.
The sad thing is, I'm rather used to it by now. Of course Wallin missed that open net! What did you expect him to do? Score?
Only 3 comments? C'mon, we can do better... Leave a comment above and let's keep this conversation going!